Backpack sleeping bag and tent

TaftHunter

I hunt a lot
Nov 17, 2012
Taft
Can anyone recommend a compressable sleeping bag for backpacking. Mostly going to use it for 1-2 night trips. And also a 2 person lightweight tent. Thanks!

Depends on how much you want to spend...

For an afordable bag I'd look at the Kelty down models. I have a 20 degree Lightyear which didn't break the bank but does the job. Down packs smaller and is lighter than synthetic. The advantage of synthetic is that it dries faster if it gets wet.

I have the Eureka Spitfire I which I like. They also make a two person model.

Attachments

• Bear hunt 2012 007.JPG
    Bear hunt 2012 007.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 39
Lungpopper said:
Hey Breacher, is that a one man tent? Also what is the weight of the bag and the tent? (each)

Pictured are the Eureka Spitfire I tents that Millbro and I used on our backpack hunt last year. Its a 3 pound tent including rainfly and all the stakes. It doesn't pack down as small as some of the high dollar tents but for the money, its a bargain backpacking tent. Its about 18" long went packed. I strapped mine to the bottom of my pack. It also rained pretty good on us one night and the fly held up nicely.

The Kelty Lightyear down 20 degree is about 2.5 pounds. I don't know it is a true 20 degree bag. The coldest weather I've used it in was probably the high 30's. Any colder and I'd be looking for something more or would be wearing some layers.

For budget items I'd recommend them. If you have serious cash to spend, you can find much better with some of the other name brand items. They do the trick though.