Coues Whitetail are my favorite

Yeah I like the bottom one as well ! Great work thanks for sharing . Are you self taught ? Or did you go to a school ?

Thanks, I kind of did an apprenticeship at a local taxidermy shop in California til I moved. Then I joined the Arizona Taxidermy Association and attended a few seminars. Lots of tricks to the trade. I try to limit myself to 25 animals a year and this year started turning guys away at 30. I do just enough so I can go on one cool hunt a year. Heading to Greenland next month for musk ox.... Ed F

Thanks, I kind of did an apprenticeship at a local taxidermy shop in California til I moved. Then I joined the Arizona Taxidermy Association and attended a few seminars. Lots of tricks to the trade. I try to limit myself to 25 animals a year and this year started turning guys away at 30. I do just enough so I can go on one cool hunt a year. Heading to Greenland next month for musk ox.... Ed F
Curious, how many animals per year do you think you would be doing if it was full time job?

Man, I love Mule Deer, but Coues Deer definitely take the beauty prize. The next good one I get I’ll have mounted. It’s funny, where I hunt Coues they are up in the mountains and the Mule Deer are down in the bottoms, which is opposite of what you’d normally find in a place that has both. Makes them that much more fun to hunt though!

Curious, how many animals per year do you think you would be doing if it was full time job?

Hundreds.... Think about it, do you know a taxidermist that isn't overworked and has less than a one year turnaround? Even the worst taxidermists with the worst reputations are still IMG_2459-1.jpg overworked. Sad but true. If you look hard you'll find the good ones and there are plenty...

Kellen... you should have mounted your Coues. Go shoot another one, I need more capes....

Here is a sneak peak of an Arizona mule deer I just mounted... mounting a bigger one right now... Ed F