Good Morning SCH!!!

ChefRob13

Aug 19, 2014
Newbie Here! Never been Hunting but have been doing all the learning I can. I'm in the middle of my online safety course. And have my Howa Ranchland in jail at turners with $100 to go. Me and a buddy are planning to go to Big Horn Canyon Ranch when we get good and ready for our first Hunt. I live in Whittier and shoot at Burro and Insight. Wanted to say wassup!!!

Welcome chefrob. Sounds like you are off to a good start.

Sent via Tapatalk

Thank you Sir, I don't come from a hunting family so I am learning on my own. I've been into shooting for a couple years now. And i love hiking and camping, so being a Chef, Harvesting game myself is naturally the next step. I'm looking forward to getting out there.

ChefRob13 said:
Thank you Sir, I don't come from a hunting family so I am learning on my own. I've been into shooting for a couple years now. And i love hiking and camping, so being a Chef, Harvesting game myself is naturally the next step. I'm looking forward to getting out there.

Welcome.

What would you do with a deer heart? How would you prepare it? Assuming I fill a tag this year, I'd like to try it...

Breacher said:
ChefRob13 said:

Welcome.

What would you do with a deer heart? How would you prepare it? Assuming I fill a tag this year, I'd like to try it...

I ate a little heart a few days ago. My buddy had a turkey that we grilled, including the heart, Liver, and Kidneys.

For a deer heart I would Keep it simple to enjoy the flavor of the Offal and not smother it. clean it real good of all the silver skin and fat cap. Half it and clean out any of the veins or vessels and butterfly it out a bit so it is about an even thickness in order to cook more consistent.