Hog hunting?

ktkheatsfan

Sep 25, 2013
Hi all, I am new to hunting and was wondering if anyone would be open to taking my brother and I hug hunting? Or knew of any public land that we can go and hunt?

Welcome to SCH.......For "hug" hunting I suggest you go to any of the bars in South Mission, PB, and maybe for a little better class of animal, Del Mar or La Jolla......... ;D

Ya sorry I meant hog not hug lol. Cool thanks for the info. If you'd like to take me out and show me the ropes I'd appreciate it!

Kt,

I think for hugs you much better off by yourself.........Now for SD hogs........Think south of 8 these days and Lake Morena.......The guys in the know, aren't going to give up much on the few locations that have a few left.......For the most part, they've been eradicated. Especially here in north county.

ktkheatsfan said:
Thank if or when you go out hog hunting next you think I could tag along?

The guys you want to talk to are The Matagi and MJB.......Way better and they have the dogs.

You don't. They are mythical creatures who appear only when you've shown yourself to be worthy.
Seriously, pig hunting is great fun and I encourage you to pursue it. But pigs are scarce down here and I doubt anyone will shown you the ropes if you don't know the guys already. However, there are professional services you can hire to take you on a hunt, mostly north of LA. They are fun and instructive, and can fit your level of skill, experience and fitness. Doug McClanahan in San Diego has a fenced property you can hunt for a fee. For "fair chase" outfits, look into Tejon Ranch or Giant Sequoia Guide Service (sponsors SCH) up north. There are others as well.