Intro

Kellendv

Hey guys, just wanted to introduce myself, been following along for a bit and figure it's time to chime in. My name is Kellen, I'm 30, and born and raised in San Diego. I'm a Nurse at one of the major metropolitan hospitals in San Diego. I've been hunting in San Diego, and elsewhere in CA since age 13. I've also generally been hoofing around the backcountry hiking, backpacking, fishing, climbing, mountaineering, etc since I was old enough to carry a pack.

Bird hunting, especially quail hunting, has been my primary focus for the majority of my hunting career. There isn't much more exciting than a covey flush in your face. I've always hunted without dogs, and learned enough about quail and their habitat to consistently find them without a dog. Last February I went on a guided Mearn's Quail hunt in Arizona, and hunted behind some professional bird dogs and promptly fell in love. I found a pair of four year old English Setters in northern CA and (somehow) convinced my girlfriend that three dogs (we have a mutt also) would be a good idea. Purchased the dogs in March, and this has been their first season with me. They're doing great so far. They were trained and hunted on a private hunting ranch, but are not what you would call "finished" dogs. I know of coveys, valley quail and mountain, around the county that I can put them on regularly. Just wish the bird numbers were better this year so I could shoot more birds over them! I also hunt pheasant, dove, turkey and….. deer.

4B23596D-4F42-49B0-AE99-0360C9C4A37F_zpssjlufx4g.jpg

IMG_0049_zps031f8d29.jpg

IMG_0055_zpsf403bfdd.jpg

IMG_0079_zps2281f8b8.jpg

IMG_0057_zpsb0c21bbd.jpg