New guy really needs some help!!

Tbob

Dec 11, 2014
Hey gang,
So I'm very new to San Diego (two weeks now) and have been trying like crazy to figure out how all this deer hunting draws, tags, premium, restricted, 2 deer tags per season, rifle, archery, doe only stuff works?!?! I've read previous posts on here and even drove out to the DFG office on Ruffin St and am now more confused than ever! The guy at the DFG office was useless and you all seem to have this stuff down really well so I was hoping to get a little help from you seasoned vets for my first go around.
I generally hunt archery, but I do have a rifle that I like to bring out from time to time.. Is it possible to hunt one deer tag rifle and one archery? Also it looks like my closest opportunity is in the D-16 unit, but I'd like to start the points process for some other (better quality draw units) I don't mind traveling wherever those would be either..
I'm confused about AO hunts as well?
If anyone can just give me a few good options and how to's to throw down on my application this year it would really help me out! I'm honestly just looking to get out and do some hunting this first year and learn the lay of the land.. I feel like I don't have much time to research until the deadlines this year so any help, advise, insite would be so greatly appreciated!! Thanks much!

Tbob,

Welcome to SCH.......Let's start with an AO tag.......You can get it at anytime and it's "archery only" in any of the SoCal D zones including D-16......A D-16 tag can be bought over the counter as well. I haven't seen the new format, but historically you could buy 2 D-16 tags......You can use one in the archery portion & one in the rifle, if you want.......To start to get points, you can put in for say, G-3 (Goodale Hunt) 1st choice, A-22 (archery San Diego, either sex) 2nd choice, and a D-16, 3rd choice......Lots of combos......Go on line and read the new regs and deer choices......Good luck.

Reactions: encore90230