new to site, upland bird hunting

kylemg0009

Jan 20, 2015
Costa Mesa, CA
Hello all, this is my first time on this forum or any forum at all!
I had my first quail hunt as of october, I know a group of guy in phoenix AZ that have been taking me out with their dogs and showing me the ropes, and I am completely addicted now.
I want to sometime avoid the 6 hour drive and would to find some great upland bird hunting locations within two hours from me, i live in Costa Mesa, CA.
I am thinking of going to Lake Perris' upland game reserve, I know its late in season and tough without a dog, but I'd at least like to try it and see if I can find some quail or rabbit. I called the park ranger and they said their quail season has not been very busy this year so I'm hoping there will be some healthy coveys left.
Any advice on some great bird locations? I know it's late season but thought i'd ask!

welcome to the site....

Was a very rough year rain wise, I am not saying do not go but its going to be rough to find a bird. So go and wander around a bit and see whats going on but do not let it bum you out.

Thank you for the insight. I'm not expecting too much but just getting out there is always nice, and a few dead quail or rabbits will only make it even better.

I have not hunted that reserve, but from what I have heard and from what I have seen of it, I recommend you go elsewhere. Someone else may have some more recent first-hand experience though.