Scouting during archery season. etiquette?

oscar

Feb 2, 2018
Corona ca.
I happen to have some time to scout on sept 1. opening day for you bow and arrow folk. Since i'm a noob I don't want to be "that guy" and mess up someones hunt. Any advice you can give me if I see a hunter set up? Is it time to break out the orange?
i'll be solo, out before day break trying to come up with a few ambush sites before rifle season. I plan to set out cams after morning has passed and check out some plan b, and c. areas during the afternoon. I'll pick up the cams next week.

Honestly that's the wrong day to scout. Just skip opening day and let the bow hunters have it. After that it's game on.
After opening day the number of hunters will drop and the deer will return to their more normal paterns.

So if you do happen on a hunter in a stand. Just back out and be chill. Don't say sorry or ask how the hunting has been.

Don't worry as much about walking in the dark. Scouting is more about looking for sign. Tracks and shit are just as useful as seeing them. Walk in after sun up so you can see(deer live next to roads too)

Wearing orange would make an easier target for me to hit if they bust my setup on deer opener You have some time, scout now before opener or wait a bit after.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
X2 start now, if you find sign tracks and scat do less walking and more scanning with binos and spotting scope
I seen deer disappear after opener because of the pressure from hunters walking all over and leaving human scent.

Reactions: oscar
agreed. I'll give em the opener. My schedule is tight, but I can make that adjustment. After that i plan on giving them a wide berth. Those golden hours in my mind are for sitting and watching. I plan on doing my walking after 9.