Silent Morning. New Hunter Looking for Feedback

OnTwoWheels89

Aug 26, 2022
Tried something different this morning since I have not been able to get responses from the gobblers once they hit the ground. Brought a lightweight pop up blind and sat in the same spot for about 6 hours this morning. Didn't see or hear anything, no shots from other hunters either. I am in my 3rd year hunting, learning everything on my own by trial and error. Have not found success with Turkeys/Deer yet, but managed a few dove/quail.
Is setting up a blind like this with no decoy (public land) worth it? Or should I go back to being more mobile? I have jakes on camera near this spot, but not exactly where I set up my blind.
My tactic this season has been mostly sit and call for 45-90 minutes then move a few hundred yards and try again. Any roasting/feedback/tips for a new hunter would be much appreciated!

PS. This is a heavily pressured public land spot in D16, these pictures are not burning anyone's secret area. I had a hunter walk up to within 100yds of the back of my blind today. We waived politely and he turned around.

Blind.jpg03240289.JPG

Patience, you've got that.
Find their roost and try to patern their move once they hit the gound.

Soft tree yelps, don't hammer him/over call.
Once he responds to your call, he knows you're there.

Set up in the area where you see em traveling and get ahead of him if you can

Look for strutting signs-often he'll come back looking for that hen (you) that he heard eaier in the day -often silent

Ive waited all day, 3pm last week and that ole joke came in solo to his strutt zone...Public

20230413_111609.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Look for strutting signs-often he'll come back looking for that hen (you) that he heard eaier in the day -often silent

Ive waited all day, 3pm last week and that ole joke came in solo to his strutt zone...Public