Spot and stalk rifle ideas?

Brian1183

Apr 19, 2017
Burbank
Hey guys, I thought i'd get your opinions on what you think regarding a lightweight rifle for spot and stalk... I'm pretty new to this and went on a pig hunt recently... a friend of mine had this nice lightweight rifle which made me realize how heavy my rifle really is (weatherby sporter 7.5lbs rifle only)... i figure the lighter my total gear is, the better chance I will have to stalk something out at a further distance...

looking at 30-06 (versatile for most game, minus moose and grizz bear, which i dont plan to hunt)... 300 win mag and 7mm looks fun, but its pretty pricey per round and kicks like a mule for a lightweight gun..

i know there is no such thing as an "everything rifle" but it doesnt hurt to try to find something close...

Any ideas on whether to build something out? or would it be better to get something made...
the kimber mountain ascent looks nice...only 5.5 lbs in 30-06...just super pricey, but I can save for it over time..just doing my research ahead of time.. sorry if this has been discussed many times before..

Thanks!

Reactions: Moves
As a rule, the lighter the gun the heavier the kick. Even in 30.06. Might be too much for you, depends on how much recoil you can handle and not flinch or bruise. Many good options out there. John from Fine Firearms should chime in. .260 is a good one as is a 7mm-08. With todays good bullets they shoot flat and have good knock down power.

Reactions: longbowhunter2
As a rule, the lighter the gun the heavier the kick. Even in 30.06. Might be too much for you, depends on how much recoil you can handle and not flinch or bruise. Many good options out there. John from Fine Firearms should chime in. .260 is a good one as is a 7mm-08. With todays good bullets they shoot flat and have good knock down power.

Right, i figured that the kick would be worse.. i figured the heavier the round, itd need some sort of muzzle brake...