Texas Hunt - Nov 7 - 10

Ali

Nov 12, 2013
Hey Guys,

I just posted this on BDOutdoors and thought I'd share it here also. I'm loving reading all the local deer reports here.

Just got back from a super fun trip with Nate aka El Toro and Brent aka Fresh One. They invited me to hunt a private ranch near Sonoroa Texas. We would be chasing Whitetail, Axis, Pigs and Turkeys for 3 days.

I have seen the pics from past trips and I was stoked to get the invite! I've been bow hunting for two seasons now and apparently I'm not very good at it. After 15 sits in the Laguna Mountains, I've seen plenty of deer but haven't had a shot at killing one.

A couple weeks ago I was lucky enought to connect with a whitetail doe in South Dakota. Since then I have been looking forward to this trip because I knew I could learn a ton from Nate and Brent and get a bunch of experience since the place is crawling with game. I was right. I learned a ton, had a bunch of fun and got to see a lot of animals.

We landed on Thursday around noon, stopped at a Walmart and then hauled ass out to the ranch. Within an hour of arriving we were in the blinds and hunting. On this night we would also see animals but no bucks. We all wanted to shoot either a nice whitetail or Axis buck and a doe for the freezer. Just before dark I did see one really big buck and I even tried to draw on it, but got busted by a weary doe.

We hunted both AM and PM on Fri and again we saw plenty of does and small bucks/spikes. Nate had a Javelina come in the AM that he took. Nate also had one nice buck come in that he missed with the recurve and that was it. We had all passed on a couple nice animals that we started to have second thoughts about. I also shot a little piggy.

attachment.php

attachment.php