That "New Guy" Needing tips

TChotshot3

Hey everyone,

I'm new to hunting world and I have a few questions to start.

I'm looking at getting a rifle, I've heard mixed things about certain calibers. What's the best caliber to go with, for deer and elk?

I currently live in the Ventura County area, does anyone know any hunting sites around the Thousand Oaks, Camarillo and Ventura Area? I want to hunt quail in a couple weeks and was wandering if there any spots near by. Does anyone know if its legal to hunt with led shells still in my area? Or do I need Steel for upland game?

TC,

Welcome to SCH......Here's some short answers and just my opinion....Buy a .270 or 30.06....Readily available ammo, almost all guns come in these calibers, and they're tried and true for most big game species (I own both).

Near your area you have the Los Padres NF (I shot a lot of quail & band-tails near Frazier Park).....This area will be your best bet for local upland. Not that far away is Kern Co. and the Lake Isabella area. Historically one of the best quail spots.

You can use lead for quail and dove through 2017 as of now and anywhere in the state.....To use your rifles in the Los Padres, you'll need copper.

Hope this helps a little and good luck.

Welcome to the site. As sprig mentioned, the popular choices for deer rifles are .270 and .30-06. The former is the thinking man's deer rifle and the latter is a brute force instrument. I shoot a .270, but I have often pondered a .243. For our SoCal deer I think it's plenty of gun, and will give you 10-25% less felt recoil, depending on your choice of round.

As for non-lead...(Steve correct me if I'm wrong but) upland is lead free on CDFW properties this year. So you will need to make sure you're not hunting with lead in the penalty zone.