280AI Final Load with 169 Hammers

What an absolute hammer! What scope are you using for load development?

Reactions: NBK
Thanks Chris, I went back to the Bushnell LRHS 4.5-18x44. It is my go to for reliability.

The 280 Ackley final load is ready for the season.

169 Hammer Hunters

Velocity = 3062

SD = 3.0

ES = 6

3 shot group @ 300 yards = .566"

View attachment 46326View attachment 46327View attachment 46328
So @NBK im studying your graph and velocity numbers... clearly your node is @61.1 no question you found the proper powder charge! But I was thinking...would I have found that load doing my typical 10 rd Saterlee load development. I submit it may not have shown up. I think your 5 rds at each powder charge is still a superior method of load development. Kudos to your method

Thanks Chris. I have been using this method for years now. I have gone away from the ladder test and have trusted the SD & ES values as they have proven to be what's needed for longer range accuracy with my rifles. I use 3 shot groups in .3 grain increments. With an accurate hunting rifle, I don't see the need for five shot work-ups. If I were shooting PRS matches etc, I would change my method slightly.

Quite impressive! I just realized that was 0.566 at 300y!! And I was happy with my sub 3" groups at 500y. RL26 does produce impressive ES / SD #'s in my 6.5 PRC as well.

Taking down notes!
:writing-smiley:

RL26 is outstanding in my 22creed and 25x284, once the temps start to climb I get random velocities. Just keep that in mind on hot days. I since went to H4350 in my 22, shoots just as good, just better temp stability for those hot days.

RL26 is outstanding in my 22creed and 25x284, once the temps start to climb I get random velocities. Just keep that in mind on hot days. I since went to H4350 in my 22, shoots just as good, just better temp stability for those hot days.