Ammo shipping question

WaterDawg

Nov 20, 2016
I’ve tried to get an answer from the state, the OC sheriff, and the city PD, but no love so far so I’m throwing this out to you all.

I am currently a resident of Oregon, but I travel back to OC at least once per month on business. I stay at my folks house when I’m there. And most of my hunting takes place in CA. If I buy ammo in Oregon, can I FedX it to my pop’s house in OC for my use when I’m there? And, is it still legal to transport ammo into CA in checked luggage if I fly?

Thanks for any info.

I think like guns, ammo will need to be sent to store or person with FFL. If they will ship it at all. I sent a gun to a guy in Az. Via FFL dealer, I could not ship ammo with it., not that I was going too. I think you can fly with ammo into Cal. but there is a limit on how much you can bring in. Ammo can't be in same case with gun if you are flying with one. If this is incorrect feel free to correct what I stated.

Reactions: WaterDawg
Remember..CA,s laws are open to interpretation..and are ambiguous at best...in essence...they are designed to Hurt...

Kevin,

I know when I've traveled out of state with ammo 2 years ago...I was allowed 11 lbs in the check-in luggage...I also flew back with 11 lbs...That said, the laws change so quit here, I'd just check with the airlines.

The new CA ammo laws only applies to CA residents that acquire ammunition while outside of CA. [PC 30314(a)]

Therefore...
It does not apply to CA residents that acquired ammunition in CA, leave CA with that ammunition, and return to CA with that ammunition.

SB1235, which was passed and signed by the Governor, had the following exception: