Best BANG for BUCK?

Nuevo

Dec 28, 2018
I'm looking for some better educated opinions than my own here, and I know I'll probably get a few different answers.... so here's my question.

Since I don't know jack sh** about copper or any other non lead rifle ammo, I'm looking for a good middle ground round that could handle deer and elk. I don't think I would make any shots beyond 400 yds, so I think I'll keep that my max range.

The rifle is a Savage 114 classic 30.06.

What round would you go with, and what grain?

Reactions: longbowhunter2
I shoot barnes TTSX in 168 grain out of 30-06. Only thing I will say is try and hit bone, they are an excellent bullet as long as you hit something hard. They expand well and don’t ruin a ton of meat beyond the area of the penetration since the copper does not fragment and fly around.

If you do not hit bone, you run the risk of simply punching a hole in the animal.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am also a rookie on this subject but my buddy that has been hunting lead free said the Hornady GMX 165 did well on the bucks he has harvested. So that is what I will be using in d12 this coming year.

I will keep an eye on this post to pick up some pointers.

I am also a rookie, but isnt 168 grain bullet a little big for are deer here in so cal???

I am also a rookie, but isnt 168 grain bullet a little big for are deer here in so cal???

It’s definitely big enough, but I don’t know any negative with using it? I use it on antelope in Wyoming too. It doesn’t fragment and destroy meat. I use it because it has a very good BC, and I can use one round for anything from antelope to elk.

A 150 grain would be sufficient for all those animals too, but has a lower BC than the 168.

New to non lead. But my thoughts is
More kinetic energy, other words more knock down power. And 168 has good ballistics. I thinking switch back to 308.
From 243. I have taken note, Others here have had good success with Barnes 130 GN. But most reload.