Block your stank!

Hunt2live

Oct 6, 2018
So I’m new to hunting. I live in Socal. I been thinking about what other people may do to block their scent from game. How serious are hunters about it? Do you even use deodorant? Laundry detergents? Or do you always try to have the wind in your favor.

Reactions: longbowhunter2
Hi Hunt2live
This is a question that can be asked of 10 different hunters. And half say yes scent removal works the other half will say it's not necessary.
But these are my thoughts.
It depends on many factors.
How close of stalk is required or if
It will be 300 yard shot.
The higher up a mountain you are or up on a deer stand and having the wind either cross wind or in your face less important it becomes.

Where in my opinion it works is close proximity to deer, bowhunt, muzzle loader. Eg,
And in my opinion it works. I have used it and deer were oblivious to my presence. A deer can smell you a long distance. I have read up to 1/2 mile or More. So yes it works.
The deal is, normal laundry soap is loaded with Phosphoric element.
To a deer vision, hunters clothes will glow like a light bulb.
I wash my hunting clothes in baking soda. To kill my scent. And absolutely no laundry soap.
Absolutely no scented soap for the shower.
Ok now I am going to back pedal a bit.
I hunted many years with blue jeans, flannel clothing. No scent protection.
How ever I was up high, well concealed, and very little movement.
And I scored deer.
It has to do on how a hunter is Hunting. Spot and Stalk requires a bit of hiking. And it's tough not to sweat. But that's exactly what you don't want. If you're are sweating.
A hunter is walking way to fast.
Best
LB

Just a tid bit from the past.
Native Americans before a big hunt.
Would not eat meat for a week or longer. And would hit the sweat lodge and remove the poisen and stink of man.. they wore animal skins to cover their outline.
They were usually successful.
On the big hunt.
They had to get within 30 yards or less. Amazing.