budget optics

Bronkorob

Dec 24, 2018
Im no optics expert, or know that Ive ever even held what some would call high end glass before. Im in the market for a spotting scope though. I do have a budget, and the saying seems to be it worth spending the money on good optics. got me thinking of a few directions I can go here.

I dont know how much glass manufacturing has come in the last 20-40 years or what kind of new technology, if any, revolutionized bino/scopes in that time frame. Ive used a few older pretty nice scopes before and they seemed very clear and well made.

say you got 200 bucks to spend. Is a used older high end spotting scope on par/better/worse than a brand new brand xxx $200 spotting scope?

Would anyone say that the cheaper Chinese/generic brand optics of today meet the "high end" standards of years ago? Or has lens making come that far along where todays ebay/knock off brands exceed what used to be the best glass out there?

Also check out pawn shops,
Garage sales.
Read the post under big game hunting. Get familiar with the optics
Most recommend. Names like
Leopold, vortex,
You might get a lucky and find
A $600 scope for $100.
It's worth aTry.

Reactions: Goyaałé
Ask to try anything used first.
Make sure it looks clear.
I started with Bushnell. Little cheaper. But try it all. Go to shops
Let you try it first.
Look at expensive stuff just to compare. Don't buy on impulse.

Budget and optics don’t go in the same sentence. Do you already have a decent pair of binoculars? Why are you looking for a spotting scope? If you are looking for something to find game I suggest nockers first if you have nockers then get a tripod.