D14 opener coming up. Who is going to be out there?

oscar

Feb 2, 2018
Corona ca.
I know most of sch is waiting for d16. I have been working at d14 scouting since summer. This is my first year and i'm exited! its almost all I can think about. I have bucks on cam and a plan. I'm doing this solo so this is going to be an adventure for sure. 4 days of hunting to look forward to.

D14 has had an influx of new hunters the last couple of years and sold out this year before August 2nd. Because of that I won't be making the trip up there, but man I am itching to get out. Just a few years ago you could get a tag the week before opening day.

Reactions: oscar
You and 2999 of your best friends.. blaze orange on every hill and traffic jams on major FS roads with lifted trucks full of “hunters” . The land of giants.... my favorite zone.

Good luck.

Great zone I saw a lot of bucks and does there when I go fishing Santa ana creek and Bear creek for browns and raimbows.

Camping at Barton Flats / fishing the Santa Ana / seeing big bucks / and having black bears wake me up at night was a staple of my child hood!

You and 2999 of your best friends.. blaze orange on every hill and traffic jams on major FS roads with lifted trucks full of “hunters” . The land of giants.... my favorite zone.

Good luck.

There are many road hunters up there. Guys are pretty casual about admitting it too, I helped a guy who got stuck a few years ago and he was telling me how he gets one every year from his truck (seemed oblivious to the fact that it was illegal). It's great for midweek hunts, just avoid opening day. Plus the rut doesn't start until near the end of the season.