Dry cured ham

Bonejour

Rut - Me worry?
Jan 27, 2013
I took this pig last January with Neil. It's my first attempt at dry curing. Froze the ham for three weeks at -20*F, then packed in Kosher salt for 10 days (1 day per pound). Then smeared with lard and coated with ground pepper, wrapped in cheese cloth and hung to dry for the past 11 months. Tried it today on bagels, and with tomato and avocado this afternoon. Tastes pretty good, but i need to slice it super thin because it's tough.
Has anyone else tried this? Prosciutto typically is sliced in line with the grain but I may try crossing the fibers if I can't slice it thinner.

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123801.546974.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123801.546974.jpg
    351.9 KB · Views: 95
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123876.611320.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123876.611320.jpg
    408 KB · Views: 99
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123889.170742.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419123889.170742.jpg
    400.1 KB · Views: 97
Very intrigued and impressed.. where did u hang your ham? Just curious. I figure there's alot of variables with that like humidity and whatnot but sounds like it worked out. To slice it thinner and tender could u refreeze it then slice it cold against the grain maybe?

Lungpopper said:
Interesting. Don did you take any pics during the process ?
no pics during the process, but I have another one hanging and I'll send a pic. the method is from this book, which I highly recommend:
Charcuterie: The Craft of Salting, Smoking, and Curing (Revised and Updated) by Michael Ruhlman & Brian Polcyn
https://itun.es/us/4dcdM.l