Getting smrt, "trained", tough to call summer yotes.

Handgun

Jun 28, 2014
Imperial Valley
EDIT to add..."in the summer, when hunting yotes is tough!"

So I have an area where I know there are yotes, and they are not welcome there...I have tried calling with a FoxPro FX3, and I generally work up every few minutes from squeaks to various rabbit distresses to invitation to challenge to pup distress. I had two young n dumbs come to distress, but nothing since. The only thing I get boo out of is invitation, and it gets them to yipping and yowling at evening time, and I hear them take off into the distance.

I'm leaning toward hunting them like deer. Keep scouting the area and looking for trails, and hanging out at sundown to listen for where their gang-up-and-go-hunting howls come from to pin down the location and ambush them. Any other thoughts?

Thanks

Re: Getting smrt, "trained", tough to call yotes.

hahaha ya they are getting smart. I am no predator expert. but what works for me.
need something that they look for finding their normal routines.. like when the coyotes hunt for game animals, turkey or deer. if too many people call too much
they will learn from experience. it will take some expert calling. just like turkey calling.
hahaha just saying. but I am no expert at it.