Heavy Wind and Quail behavior

Boudroux

Jan 26, 2013
Howdy all. I'm no expert so hopefully there is something to be learned from my hunt yesterday.

For the past couple years I've been fortunate enough to have access to a 1400+ acre private holding that is loaded with quail. Hunting this land has been very successful for me except yesterday. Yesterday the wind was blowing very hard and we only say 6 birds total. Normally for this place you see 6 before you put your boots on, 12 by time you have finished your first cup of coffee and a couple hundred or more by the end of the day. One of the canyons at this place holds what we call the mega covey. When this covey is on the move it looks like the hillside is alive, super cool.

I was there last Thursday and had a great hunt and we saw the normal tons of quail. Yesterday was heavier wind then we have ever seen there we couldn't figure out where the birds were and how the wind effected it.

Hopefully there are some behavior patterns I can learn about regarding a heavy wind day. I did manage to get one yesterday and my legs are so sore this morning I can barely walk so it was a great day but there is much for me to learn about these birds.

Thank you for any input you can provide.

Boudroux said:
Howdy all. I'm no expert so hopefully there is something to be learned from my hunt yesterday.

For the past couple years I've been fortunate enough to have access to a 1400+ acre private holding that is loaded with quail. Hunting this land has been very successful for me except yesterday. Yesterday the wind was blowing very hard and we only say 6 birds total. Normally for this place you see 6 before you put your boots on, 12 by time you have finished your first cup of coffee and a couple hundred or more by the end of the day. One of the canyons at this place holds what we call the mega covey. When this covey is on the move it looks like the hillside is alive, super cool.