Hunting Partner A Zone

KW.

Jun 14, 2020
Hello :D

I'm new to hunting, first timer here. I've followed hunters on social media for years and am now jumping in to give it a go myself. I have a deer tag for the A zone and have been doing research on where to set out from, I live in LA and seem to be zeroing in on near San Luis Obispo area although I'm open to suggestions.

I'm looking for a buddy to join me on this adventure and see if we can combine forces to bring some food home!

KW,

Welcome to SCH...When I was younger (much), my dad hunted the San Barbara area (LPNF)...As I recall, he got a couple bucks there.....Hatchet1 may be able to give you a couple of tips in that zone.

Reactions: KW.
I know a dude that has a couple acres in the A zone, along with a few acres in D zone....for a large fee, he could prolly have you done by 10am on day one..or stretch it out to the last hour on day 2 .

Reactions: Morgan1776 and KW.
That's something I've been curious about also, guided hunts. I've seen a lot of companies that offer guided hunts, some with 100% guarantee kill and things like that. I'm not necessarily looking to have it be so easy that it's that simple and guaranteed, I'm interested in the challenge, but as someone who doesn't have any experience I don't have the skills to pack out a deer on my own. Are guided hunts intentionally meant for newcomers to show them the ropes? Is that something that if I don't have a family member to show me that I would need to do on the first time? I see they often run a large price like you said, I'm just not sure where to start and am looking for a partner or mentor I guess you could say.

Reactions: HATCHET1
I think it's a great idea for a new hunter to use a guide. Get recommendations on sites like this. I recommend you talk to @HATCHET1 above. He would be on my short list for SoCal hunting. You'll learn a lot and have a great experience.

Reactions: KW. and HATCHET1