Imperial Valley Geese?

vbCal

May 18, 2021
I am still very new to waterfowl hunting but last year we did see a small pack of Canadas (2 dozen or so) about 300-400yds off the area we hunt out in Imperial Valley. I know there are geese in the valley during the season but I always assumed the numbers would be found on private fields or clubs. A friend of mine said last year he was going to hunt Wister for geese in some dry fields. Can anyone corroborate that information? I have not yet ben to Wister and assumed it was mostly preferred Duck habitat with maybe a straggler goose finding its way into the decoys here and there. I am planning on going to Wister and San J this year as the next part of my waterfowl experience. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank You very much. Do you have to draw for those as well or can you walk on to those fields?
They're the same as all the others, resis get first pick and if they aren't taken you can walk on. Most of the guys that hunt them have high resis though, they go quick.

I've driven around the southern part of the sea and have seen a few feeding in the nearby alfalfa fields. I've yet to take one down but I only try once a year.

Put enough decoys out they could land any where . Food is where they find it .

There's some honkers in the valley but not many, your best bet is trying to go on a snow goose hunt.