Laguna rec area hunting big problem

Tanner

May 10, 2012
I have been putting in a lot of hard work this year so I can hopefully stick my first buck with a bow. This is my first year hunting the lagunas and I have been very happy with the quality deer I have been seeing. On the down side I have had multiple problems with mountain bikers and hikers but what happened today trumps them all. I was in my blind early saturday and the weather was perfect for deer hunting. Well three hours in I see a group of nice toms coming straight towards me and I have never been able to take a nice Tom. So I get my bow ready and they are about 35 yards away and getting closer. My hearts going a mile a minute and the lead bird was huge with a beard dragging on the ground. They come into 15 yards and right as I draw my bow a mountain biker rides up and intentionally shoos them away and flips me off. I was so fired up that if it had not been a woman i would have rushed her. She continues to tell me off and I told her that what she did was illegal. I'm not sure what to do or if I can do anything at all but any advice would help. I am really crushed that I was robbed of a chance to take a huge turkey. Those chances don't happen every day.

She's a hater. What a nasty, ignorant thing to do. Stupid, too, to go out of her way to piss off someone with a deadly weapon. Good on you for restraining yourself. ::)

That seems like an occurrence that is happening more and more up there. Sounds like you handled it well. Did you have a camera handy? I would suggest taking pics of these people and turning them in to F&W. They may not do anything this go around, but if they get enough complaints from our side they will.