Learning the ropes

Americanpride

Jul 23, 2018
Hey SCH I'm new here. I'm from LA COUNTY and purchased a D16 deer tag. I've been hunting for a few years (unsuccessfully might I add) solo, trying to learn as I go. I've been out scouting around Palomar two weeks ago and would like to try the Laguna area. I'm heading back down the Aug 4 to do some more scouting. Do you guys have any other recommendations on BLM, desert land or other locations? Willing to hike long distances. Maybe a willing to teach and meet up? Not asking for your gps coordinates just friendly tips.

.20180714_091840.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Moves
Download OnX maps and do some e-scouting, target areas then drive / hike to check them out. Bring plenty of water for this heat.

Scouting is such a significant part of hunting and finding an area that produce good deer is part of the experience. It took me a quite a few years teaching myself, but it is a major part of learning how to hunt. I wish I had OnX when I started, instead of having paper maps.

I would check out all legal places to hunt (Cleveland National Forest, BLM, and Wildlife areas).

There are probably a ton of deer in your photo, getting good glass and slowly inspecting in / around every bush and under every tree is extremely important.

One big tip that took me a long time to get use to is to have patience...because not seeing deer means they are hiding in some kind of hell hole instead of being void from the landscape (as long as you see sign on the ground - aka scat / prints).

Thanks I eat what I shoot. I've been toying along with caltopo a lot trying to e-scout. I'll get that app and mess around with it today. Any advice on types of spotting scope, magnification, objective lens size, low light capabilities? Next time I go down there I'd like to be more productive. Looking forward to finally feeding my family wild game. Hopefully I can at least bring home some rabbits.