New guy learning the ropes

Meety Peety

Apr 16, 2020
Hey everyone, new guy Pete, here in the San Diego area (Ramona). Lived here most of my life, but I am completely new to hunting. It's something I've wanted to get into for a long time but I was never really exposed to it growing up so I have a lot to learn and catch up on. I shoot long range rifle competitions which eats up a lot of my spare time, but I like to get out and hike, explore and just generally enjoy the outdoors as much as I can. Reading about the process for obtaining a deer tag (zone D16) is what brought me here (Still trying to understand it all), and it looks like I was fortunate enough to stumble upon a wealth of knowledge here. I have been reading here ever since and figured I should make an account, introduce myself and say thanks!

I spend a fair amount of time out hiking and exploring BLM & CNF land so I am somewhat familiar with the land around the area I live in, and when I am out there I am always looking for signs of wildlife and trying to understand their patterns and habits. Needless to say, I still don't know much in that regard ;) but I continue to try and learn. I think that if I better understood what the animals were looking for, I would probably understand a bit better where to go look for them (And when). Reading around the forum here, I saw a few mentions about seasonal movement that blew my mind, never even thought about that. I guess you don't know what you don't know.