new hunter and new to the site(lake elsinore)

sycorax

Aug 16, 2013
Hello all, im new to hunting and to the Southern California Hunting site. My name is Joel and i live in Lake Elsinore, CA. I have lived in this area of socal all my life and have never been hunting. i have hiked in the ortega mountain area and fished all over but, as of yet never hunted. Looking to start up around November or December, i have not decided if i will be using a bow or long rifle. my many goal is to hunt hogs and deer, deer most likely not till next season.

I have been hitting the web pretty hard for the last 2 month looking in to the rules and laws regarding hunting in this area of California and there sure is a large amount of info to take in ???. One of the big issues will be learning to read a maps, as i have really never used a paper map or strayed from a trail in any state parks. Also any help on finding areas to hunt, and as trying to understand where i can on BLM land as it is still a bit of a mystery to me. Any help with this subject would be greatly appreciated. The information i have gleaned from this website has been very helpful already and you will be seeing me around asking more questions as i start to get more involved with the sport.

Unless you know orientation a map will only give you a general idea of where to look. Get a hand held GPS, and not your phone. Stay away from state parks they are not legal to hunt in. You need to be in national forests or BLM land. Get a deer zone map from DFG so you know what zone to buy your tag for. And just get out there and scout around. Any hunter who gets anything without scouting is just lucky. You have to scout every year to be consistent.

Welcome aboard. So are you going to be the official eyes and ears for the carp spawn at lake Elsinore? There are a few bowfishers on here that would appreciate it ;D