Newbie from the L.A. Area...

maguimaraes

Nov 12, 2012
San Fernando Valley
Hello everyone, I just found the site and wanted to introduce myself instead of just lurking...

My name is Marcelo, 36 years old father of a 3 month old and a 4 year old...have been interested in hunting for a couple of years but never really got into it mostly due to the fact that I knew no one that hunts and seemed pretty hard to do it with out some connections.

I have been surfing since 9 years old and have to be in the ocean at least a few times a week or I get pretty restless, just before the beggining of the summer in 2011 I injured my knee surfing and would have to take the summer off (yeah right) so instead of staying home, I bought a fishing pole, my paddleboard and started fishing from it, that was my way of being in the water.

Eventually my neighbor gave me a polespear and I started to buy more gear and get more into spearfishing and then Lobster season came aroung and I started to do some Lobster dives, connected with some people and went on a few boat trips to the islands and paddy diving and have been hunting underwater a few times a week now, haven't bought any fish or sea food for a little over a year now.

The desire to go hunting on land has never left so I decided to go back to researching and trying to eventually connect with a few people so here I am...

I have tons of questions but will spend some time reading the forums because I know lots of my questions will be answered that way. Meanwhile, I'm looking forward to getting to know the people here and eventually in person.

Stay safe!

Welcome. Glad you found the site. Good luck with your hunting ventures but you do NOT need connections to get started hunting. Not sure how you got into the spearfishing but I doubt someone was there every step of the way. Just do your homework. Read up on the rules and regulations. Decide what you want to hunt and get to it. Good luck!