Newbie to it all !!

dirtriddr

Mar 27, 2018
RANCHO CUCAMONGA
Hello everyone,

I just want to introduce myself. My name is Jason, 45, live in Rancho Cucamonga and I am new to hunting. I have been shooting since the age of 7 and have always wanted to hunt, just don't know any hunters. I have my hunter education card and I realize its late in the season and realistically am looking at next season before I can even attempt to get out there. So i will spend the time to educate myself, buy the right equipment and study the land. I am looking for friends, mentors and any advice I can get and how to find the areas (not anyone's spots) to go hunting at. I hope one day to be sufficient enough to have my own spots. From what I have seen so far I am loving this site.

Thank you and have a good day

Jason

Welcome to SCH. I spend a bit of time up in Rancho visiting family but haven't hunted up that way before. What type of hunting are u looking to get into? This is a good time to figure that all out and scout areas for the fall. Good luck.

Reactions: dirtriddr
Welcome to SCH. I spend a bit of time up in Rancho visiting family but haven't hunted up that way before. What type of hunting are u looking to get into? This is a good time to figure that all out and scout areas for the fall. Good luck.

Thank you for responding,
I am looking to get into Turkey, Wild Hog and Deer. Then eventually to start expanding to other species like Elk and more types of birds. I don't mind going out of my area because I don't know if there is much around here. I just try and stay positive knowing that Im not that far from San Diego and just a few hours more of a drive I can be in Central California

Reactions: Moves
Welcome Jason. I'm not to far from Rancho. I hunt D-14 San Bernardino mountains. If you decide to hunt that Zone, Just ask away & I'll help as much as possible. "In reason of course."
You back yard is D-11, & it is a giant area with alot of National Forest.