Places for hunting.

jaegermus2

Oct 5, 2012
I'm a relative noob to the hunting scene - I've been varmint hunting once and turkey hunting once. I'm interested in upland game, rabbit, turkey, waterfowl, and pig hunting. However, I have very little knowledge of places to to hunt in southern for central California. Any pointers or suggestions would be most welcome. Thanks!

Thank you for the welcomes. I live in North Hollywood (LA County) but am willing to travel up to 6 hours for a good hunting spot.

Thanks, I know the general areas but am having trouble finding actual spots (either public or private) that are both open to hunting and not crowded with people who, to put it nicely, don't care where they are shooting (I nearly got shot on my last turkey hunt from some guy target shooting up the hill). I'm open to suggestions, and thanks.

jaegermus2 said:
Thanks, I know the general areas but am having trouble finding actual spots (either public or private) that are both open to hunting and not crowded with people who, to put it nicely, don't care where they are shooting (I nearly got shot on my last turkey hunt from some guy target shooting up the hill). I'm open to suggestions, and thanks.

You just need to get out there and explore. I am personally self taught. Never had someone to show me the ropes. Experience over time has helped me get better. My hunting partner and I now constantly look for new areas to try out. We look at maps and satellite/ 3d images to help us find new areas. During the off season (really there is no "off season") we scout for huntable areas.

Get yourself a forest map for your particular area and study it. I'm sure I've said this once before on another topic but really its putting in the miles. Part of the fun isn't just going out there opening morning and hoping to score. Its the preseason hiking, scouting, equipment testing....The excitement build up for hunting season!