Questions about dove hunting

dirtriddr

Mar 27, 2018
RANCHO CUCAMONGA
So I am a total newbie, and have been a little discouraged from the way people respond on social media when a new guy ask's a question. I am not looking to be blasted for my inexperience or ask anyone for their secrete spot, and am told this is a good place to ask for advice without that. I tried dove hunting last year at the San Jacinto Wildlife Area and came up with absolutely nothing. I do not know anyone personally who is an experienced hunter that is willing to even mentor and am trying to figure this all out so that one day I can be successful. I'm figuring upland bird is a good place to start before moving on to Turkey then to the bigger game.

Question #1. I was planning on going again this year to SJWA but then am wondering about trying Imperial County. I just don't know area and totally don't want to piss anyone off by not knowing the unwritten rules made by the people who hunt the area on a regular basis. Plus not having any experience at all my confidence in what to do is very low. What would you offer for advice in my situation?

Question #2. I applied for and won the draw for Sept 7th San Felipe WA Oakgrove dove hunt. (first timers luck i guess). Does anyone have any advice for this area?

Get involved in hunting groups, NWTF is a great place to start.
You can print out a map upland game fields imperial county, that might give you new areas.
IC go for the weekend.
good luck

Reactions: dirtriddr
Where are you located? IV is your best bet, especially if you can scout on Saturday but a hotel room will be hard to find.