Shotgun Advice

KayakAngler

Sep 19, 2018
Hello, you might remember me from my "Total Newbie" post in the Newbie section a few weeks back. Anyway, I'm looking for a gun for upland birds and waterfowl, and after some research I'm leaning toward the Stoeger P3500. It has good reviews and a good price point. If anyone has experience with this gun, I'd love to hear what you think about it.

If anyone has any general advice or recommendations when shopping for this type of shotgun (for small birds, ducks, etc.), I'd love to hear it as well. I'm not totally set on the Stoeger.

Lastly, I know the regs are 3 shells only, including the 1 in the chamber, so is it better to buy a gun with a capacity of 3 to avoid the hassle of a plug? Or is using a plug easy to do?

Thanks.

Reactions: longbowhunter2
In that price range I'll also recommend my Franchi Affinity. I think they call it the Affinity "3" and the "3.5" now (which corresponds to shell length). My Affinity has been caked in mud and still fires. Hundreds if not thousands of rounds down the pipe and no issues. Plus it's very light so is good to haul around for upland game.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

I have the mossberg 500, no complaints.
Nice! The MB500 was next on my list. Good to hear you've had no complaints with it. I think it comes with more chokes than the Steoger as well.

I'm going to check out the A300 and Franchi, too.

Thanks, guys!

Mossberg 500 and the P3500 are pumps, the others people are talking about are semi autos. I wouldn't get any pump gun other than an 870. You can get an Express model for well under $400 probably $300. They aren't as well made as they once were but still the best option IMO. I'm a Benelli guy but that P3500 has to be similar to a Nova. I've seen more issues with those than all other pumps combined. If you can swing the $700plus the Beretta A300 is a very light and dependable gun that will have much less recoil than any of the others mentioned.