Ultralight 1-2 person tent recommendations

NBK

Trying to be the man my dog thinks I am.
GOLD SITE SUPPORTER
Mar 8, 2011
San Diego, Ca.
Lets here some opinions on lightweight tents. I don't have a ton of experience but I did use a MSR Hubba Hubba NX-2 in Utah and I was impressed. Maybe the con would be it was a 3 pound 14 ounce tent. It was easy to set up and did well in the rain. It was roomy and seemed pretty rugged.

I am going to purchase something soon so help a guy out. What is your experience. Quality, durability and weight are all factors.

This was my Utah setup -

mymountainhome.jpg

I have been using the MSR hubba hubba for a few years. I really like the foot print and it’s durability but I think it’s on the heavy end of backpacking tents. I’m thinking about investing in a seek outside teepee.

Reactions: NBK
I use a seek outside floorless tent. I have the silver tip. If you want to save weight and still have space seek outside is hard be beat. One downside is they have a large footprint which is good for space but when you are spike camping you have to make sure you find an area large enough to pitch it. I love being able to cook inside the tent.

With good weather you can run a bivey or tarp.

if your looking ultralight start looking at some of the cottage shop brands.

Reactions: JakeSCH
For a budget backpacking tent, Eureka Spitfire. I’ve used them for years.

.5751E7C1-B201-4286-A311-4EBBED7BBA71.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: NBK
Been eyeballing this setup for colder temps.

For light weight backpacking pretty hard to beat this Nemo Hornet 2p for 1 person there is plenty of room with Double doors and storage area on both sides weighing in at 2 pounds 1 ounce 8F77B5B8-48A9-4571-A22A-867609641DA7.jpeg

Last edited:
Reactions: TRICER and NBK
I run a big agnes copper super 1p. Great tent, but would rather have nemo hornet 2p

I really like my tent to be
Water proof
Bug proof
Light as possible
Sorry guys i like a sealed floor.