Buck patterns during Rut

RMP

Jul 20, 2016
Hi all,
This is my first season hunting and had a question for the experts regarding mule deer buck behaviour during the rut. I am a novice bowhunter and have an AO and A-22 tag. This season I've spent about two total weeks scouting and have been able to hunt 5 days. I have seen does on about half of my scouting sessions and hunts, but this weekend was the first time I saw bucks! My most promising spot is in a desert environment on BLM land where I've been practising spot and stalk techniques. However, since the general season started I have been hunting CNF land that is mixed pine and oak forest. I used a climber tree stand for the first time this weekend and had a spike walk by within 30 yards look in my direction and keep on going about it's business as usual. It was nice to prove to myself that a tree stand works in that environment. I also saw a nice 3 point buck that was quickly passing by at about 150 yards. He stopped twice before disappearing into the brush. I think he may have been evading hunters that pushed him into my area based on his trotting/stotting gait.

Is it reasonable to assume during the rut that a mature buck will stay within the same region or will he range far and wide looking for unbred does? In other words, would it be a good bet to go setup on Friday in the same location with the hopes of encountering the big buck I saw this weekend?

This forum has been a lot of help so far and I appreciate any advice given.

Last edited:
Reactions: longbowhunter2