D11 bear and deer hunting (1st year)

Birddognate4

Feb 18, 2024
Hello all! This will be my first year deer hunting. I am a SoCal resident (Orange County at the moment) and was looking some some help in advice for d11.

I’ve been on multiple hikes through the Glendora and Azusa area and gotten into some burns in the San Gabriels near falling springs. I’ve seen a couple doe but nothing I can really pattern. I set one camera in the Glendora area and one in the cedar springs and falling springs areas.

My questions are. Should I be looking more east in higher elevations ? Those spots I’ve looked are 3-6k feet. I also would be carrying a black bear tag this year. Is it smart or not so smart to hunt an area for both or is that counterproductive ? I’ve heard mixed things. I’m not looking for anyone’s hunting spots and I’m willing to put in the miles. Just looking for the wilderness areas that are more populated.

If anyone if willing to
Mentor or show these tactics and tips in hand in d11 I would love to get out there. I am newly obsessed with muleys and black bear. I’m 28 years young and trained in be mountains in the army. Furthest I’ve done is about 6 miles 1 way in half day and 6 miles back. 2000 feet elevation gain. That’s about where I’m at since getting out ! Thanks again!

Reactions: HATCHET1 and khunts
Bear and deer overlap in that area so nothing wrong with having both tags. My experience in the area is deer don’t move elevations much you find pockets of them where you find feed and water

Reactions: khunts
i follow the berries for bear starting in achery season, they ripen lower and move up the mountain. By General season look for the oak stands that are dropping acorns, berries will be gone. The Does seem to be resident, but bucks will find them during the rut. If you are not targeting bears specifically still good to have a tag, most are taken that way.