Hi From Australia

s13tsilvia

Aug 21, 2014
Australia
Well as the title says, im from Australia and hunt basically anything that moves, ducks, pigs, foxes, cats, but mainly hunt our sambar deer with beagles and harriers over here!

The reason for me joining up to your forum is im coming over to California (Carlsbad) in december for work for a few weeks and want to get some hunting in, (ive never been to USA before and cant wait!!!!!). So after googling around this forum came up as my best bet for info etc on getting to go hunting.

So my question to everyone is, if im on limited time, ie weekend only hunting would my best bet be to get a guide for the weekend or try and arrange a meet with a friendly forum member?

I would love to either go dove shooting, deer or bear depending on cost..
I have no knowledge on your game laws, public lands etc whats required by me being an international tourist etc so costs and so on would also be a great help.

Im a Third generation hound hunter and have been hunting with hounds with my dad and grandfather since i could walk and its in my blood, we normally hunt in a team of upto 10 guys. Cant think of anything else to do in winter except go hunting.

Some of our dogs we run.
IMG_8511_zps6c58f4cb.jpg

Some action pics
Getting the deer out of the river
sambar2010002.jpg
sambar2010013.jpg

Snow hunting lol
IMAG0932_zps75ad1e50.jpg
IMAG0942_zpsf3911475.jpg

looking for fresh marks
IMAG0933_zps58d20e4b.jpg

coming home from hunting and this is standing in a paddock!
DSC03743_zps5ad0f5da.jpg

going across the wires to hunt another area!
10-17-2009_006640x480.jpg

Great pix.............Thanks for sharing................Make sure you bring proof that you've passed a hunters safety course.........I'm just assuming they'll except an out of country one........But this is California........ ;)

Go on line for requirements.........I live near Carlsbad.

California will accept a safety coarse that meets