Long season but limited opportunities

OzarkHNTR

Dec 4, 2013
Hey gents, so I got my A22 tag. Went out opening day but as we all know the heat was extreme. With it cooling down and me going out to sea on and off for a few weeks at a time I don't have much time to go and feel like I'm missing prime deer moving weather. I'm thinking of attempting to use all the tricks up my sleeve even though it's early in the season. Has anyone been successful rattling bucks in early season if at all in SoCal?

Reactions: Goyaałé
SoCal rattling hasn't served me well in the past but doing it out of rut will definitely not serve you well anywhere. It's not a common practice here but that doesn't mean it can't work during the rut. As a scientist I'd say we need more data.

Reactions: Goyaałé
Thanks for the input fellas. I've had success with gentle rattling during the early season for white tails and Muleys in western Kansas. I might give that a shot out here to see if I can lure a curious buck withing range since their testosterone levels should be increasing. I'll let you guys know the outcome.

Thanks for the input fellas. I've had success with gentle rattling during the early season for white tails and Muleys in western Kansas. I might give that a shot out here to see if I can lure a curious buck withing range since their testosterone levels should be increasing. I'll let you guys know the outcome.