New duck hunter.....er ah hunting....whatever

BFinneran

Oct 25, 2019
Been shooting upland birds 30 years and this Sunday will be my first duck hunt! Pulled an 86 for Wister. Got my gear, got an Ameristep care taker ground blind and a snickers bar! Any info other than “ don’t be a airbuster” would be great! Also I’m going alone so anybody want to show me what’s up? Yes I’m a site newb also.....I got thick skin!

#1 leave the blind you won’t need it there’s typically man made brush blinds at every spot
#2 bring small pair of tree trimmers
#3If your by yourself just throw out a half dozen decoys it can be a long haul at wister
#4 make sure you have waders or you won’t get your birds
#5 only 25 shells while in the field at wister leave extra shells in the truck. They way things have been you won’t need more than a few shells anyways.
#6 have fun and don’t get discouraged birds still are not down and honestly seems like they will never be down like they use to be been a rough 3 years.

Been shooting upland birds 30 years and this Sunday will be my first duck hunt! Pulled an 86 for Wister. Got my gear, got an Ameristep care taker ground blind and a snickers bar! Any info other than “ don’t be a airbuster” would be great! Also I’m going alone so anybody want to show me what’s up? Yes I’m a site newb also.....I got thick skin!
Welcome to the site and duck hunting ! I’m a newbie to this site also but have hunted ducks here in SoCal for quite awhile. Tough place to hunt under any circumstances but especially this year . Not to discourage you but Sunday duck hunts at

Welcome to the site and duck hunting ! I’m a newbie to this site also but have hunted ducks here in SoCal for quite awhile. Tough place to hunt under any circumstances but especially this year . Not to discourage you but Sunday duck hunts at