Public Land Jakes

Josh S.

Jul 22, 2016
I have located 5 jakes that are grouped up and they would not come into my decoys. I'm originally from Minnesota and if a group of eastern jakes saw 2 hen decoys they would have definitely came in to check them out. I'm walking back over a mile and have not seen anyone there. I'm not wanting to shoot a Jake but I am curious why they wanted nothing to do with my decoys, skirted @ 40 yds.

What is everyone's thoughts?

P.S. They are not responding to any locator or turkey calls.

Sent from my LG-H820 using Tapatalk

Reactions: BangBangBrandon
I am no expert but I have called in a few. I would say just cluck every 15-20 minutes and use no decoys or locators if you know where thy are.
Those birds have been seeing decoys and hearing locators for the past three weeks. The decoys are probably what is making them flair. @ilovesprig will have way better advice than me I just know later in the late season no decoys can sometimes be better.

I am no expert but I have called in a few. I would say just cluck every 15-20 minutes and use no decoys or locators if you know where thy are.
Those birds have been seeing decoys and hearing locators for the past three weeks. The decoys are probably what is making them flair. @ilovesprig will have way better advice than me I just know later in the late season no decoys can sometimes be better.
Thanks for the reply. That's what I was thinking, leaving the decoys at home. Never hunted birds like these before

Josh,

Welcome to SCH....I ditched the decoys soon after the adult opener....In fact, the only gobbler that I had totally commit to decoys was the one my youth hunter got in a preserve.