Rube Powell Archery Walking Range

Papadeuce

Aug 27, 2018
Carlsbad
Question for any of you who have been down to the Rube Powell Archery Range. The website says it's got targets from 20 feet to 80 yards on the walking range. My question is whether there's the capability in the range to be able to get closer to the 80 yard target so you're not having to shoot that far. I ask because I'm new to archery and haven't shot anything further than 60 and that was like 3 arrows just to do it. I don't have anywhere to even sight in at that distance but see that they have a range out to 90 down there too so I guess I could try it out while down there. So, just curious if I would just need to skip that target or if I could get closer to it rather than possibly losing some arrows!

Thanks in advance.

I did, that’s where I got the information about the range lengths. There just isn’t any mention about where you can or can’t shoot from on the walking range in regards to each target.

sorry I have not practice in a while and I forget stuff, look at the link provided, starts at 10 yard balboa range.
scroll down

When it says "out to 80 yards" It just means that you can shoot that far. That same 80 yard target has a 70, 60, 50, 40, 30, and 20 yard marker as well. All the targets have several distance markers to shoot from.

Reactions: Dawnandusk
When it says "out to 80 yards" It just means that you can shoot that far. That same 80 yard target has a 70, 60, 50, 40, 30, and 20 yard marker as well. All the targets have several distance markers to shoot from.
Thank you!!!

If you haven't shot that far yet I strongly recommend Morley Field. Get the bow sight in and then go to Powell. At Powell you will be shooting with different angles up or down and also the ground is not perfectly leveled.
Dont get me wrong, it is really fun to go through the course but you can loose a lot of arrows if your bow is not dialed in.