Well had my first successful hunt

Bask

Oct 3, 2022
Went out this morning to Dulzura area to go after some doves. I'm pretty new at hunting in general been out a maybe 8 times for rabbits and quail with no luck.
Started out hiking at sunrise probably passed on some shots I shouldn't have but was able to get two in a couple of hours of moving about. One of them and the first one I shot I wasn't able to recover, it went into some massive bush, spent 20min trying to find it but no luck. Kinda put a damper on it all, first thing I finally shoot I cant even find it. :/ Learned real quick to hunt where I know recovery wouldn't be near impossible.

While its only one dove I was able to take home, happy to have taken it and finally gotten something too show for the all these trips where I have gotten nothing :) but those trips weren't a waste I guess as they were what lead me to know this spot was holding doves.

Got a couple questions though, since I'm new to this if there are other hunters in the area(also dove hunting) what distance do you keep from them? I tried to maintain at least ~150yds or so and made sure I wasn't shooting in their direction. Also using size 6 and 7 steel, whats the max range you take shots at? I'm still trying to figure out what is a good distance.
Any and all other tips or advice welcome! headed back out tomorrow, hopefully get enough to make some poppers.
PXL_20230901_230331650.MP.jpgPXL_20230901_151813794.MP.jpg

Also tasted livery, only after the fact did I read up that people brine them for a day. But I'm not adverse to liver so enjoyed it anyways

While jump shooting dove is fun, you would be better off finding a flyway. Dove will fly from roost to feed and water and back in a flyway. If you can find that flyway you'll just need to stand there and wait for them to come by.