Where Does One Go To Learn About Regulations?

frozenoak

Mar 24, 2023
Lake Elsinore, CA
I am new to hunting. It seems like every time I talk to an experienced hunter the other person assumes I know a lot. For instance, I didn't know until I went to the San Jacinto Wildlife Area cleanup that one can't have more than 3 shots in their shotgun. Another example, I didn't know until I took the Hunter Education Course at BassPro that one can't use lead for hunting.

There must be other regulations that I don't know. Is there a class somewhere that teaches basic California hunting regulations in an easily digestible platform?

Regards,
Dale

Dude, you passed hunter safety and didnt know you couldn't have more than 3 in your shotgun while hunting (not just only 3, but it needs to be impossible to put more than 3 in your gun, they will try hard).

Study, study again. Some authorities make up alot of sh@#. Do yourself a favor and know your stuff or be subjected to Mr Green. There will be a time when you wish you did.

Good advice above, Know the regs and understand them forward and backwards before you ever set foot in the field, If you think ignorance of the law will get you off the hook you have never spoken with a game warden. Little to no forgiveness is given when in the field. Hunting is a privelidge just like a driver s license and you must know the rules. Downlaod and print the rules and review them each time you get ready to step out of the truck when you are trying something new.

Dale,

There's a $hit load of laws that are little known and rarely applied...Like everyone has mentioned, read the regs...Here's a couple of the common ones.

1...You can not shoot within a 150 yds of any dwelling, outbuilding, or barn...That includes bows...Imperial Co. has a 50 yd from a road law.
2...You're allowed ONE limit per day...3 in possession (most small game & birds)
3...You must have a wing on your doves to identify...Pheasant it must be identifiable...Read regs