zone A vs AO

mattpa

May 19, 2013
Im new to california hunting so i just wanna make sure im correct. If i buy a Zone A general tag that will allow me to bowhunt in zone A during the general season i dont need a AO tag to do that?

AO (archery only)
(2) Zones in Which Archery Only Tags are Valid. An archery only tag is valid for hunt G-10, and during the archery season and general season in all zones except C-1 through C-4 and X-1 through X-12.

If you wanted the option of using both a bow and rifle, you'd need the A zone North or South. The "A" is just a area designator. Its not for archery.

I personally like the AO tag. Although its archery only, its gives you a much bigger area to hunt. For example, if you had an A zone tag, you are restricted to that area whereas if you had an AO tag, you could hunt A zone, B zone and D zone if you wanted to. But you can't pull out a rifle if you wanted that option.

Clear as mud?

i Knew the "A" of Zone A was a designator. Just wanted to make sure i didnt need an AO tag to bow hunt and the i could bowhunt with the zone A tag. i will only be hunting Vandenberg. So the zone A tag would do me just fine this year maybe next year ill have more time to huntand can get to more areas. Thanks

With your A zone tag you can hunt in the general season only. You will need an A zone archery tag to hunt the archery season in A zone.

GENERALLY, the 2 seasons require different tags. There are exceptions.

^ this is not my understanding. The way I read it is that by purchasing my D-14 tag I can hunt archery or rifle during their respective seasons and the tag is good until filled. This is my first season so please correct me if I am incorrect.

Rob P. said:
With your A zone tag you can hunt in the general season only. You will need an A zone archery tag to hunt the archery season in A zone.

NOT GENERALLY. This really only applies for premium tags (i.e. X9A -A16, X12 -A20)