A22 deer behavior question

Todd98SE

Feb 26, 2018
Hello all,

This is my first year hunting deer and i drew A22 which is what I wanted. I have a treestand over a decent sized open meadow at the top of a fairly steep ridge in the Lagunas. There is plenty of fresh deer sign and I get frequent pics on my game cameras so i know there are deer in the area but I never see anything when in my stand. I've been hunting 2-3 days a week after work and one morning a weekend since the season opened. I've been going to great lengths to control scent and noise but still nothing.

Wind is typically blowing perpendicular to the ridge i'm on and i have to climb up the backside "downwind" side of the mountain to get to my stand. Do you find deer typically like to bed on this downwind side or elsewhere? I feel like maybe i'm spooking them on the climb up to the stand? or maybe i've just been unlucky so far.

Any tips on deer behavior you've seen in the Lagunas? Best practices for treestand placement, etc?

Thanks,

If you are hunting the same deer stand every weekend. You have been patterned. Try other spots still Hunting. It will get better during the rut. Also is the wind in your face?
Or cross wind away from the shooting area.

I think its like fishing right place right time, had my cam out for a month near water only 4 days had deer at various times most around 9 am , one at noon, another at 6pm none at night, keep at it and good luck.