Anyone willing to take on a Noob Shadow

msteiger

Oct 16, 2012
San Diego
So everyone says to ask questions right? Here's a question: is someone willing to let me tag along sometime?

I have zero hunting experience and next to zero knowledge. Other than reading a few websites, Field and Stream, and miscellaneous books on wilderness survival, I don't know $h!t from $h!nola about hunting. I have managed to occasionally shoot guns here and there, so I'm at least familiar with firearms. I am wondering if anyone in the San Diego area is willing to show me the ropes? Birds, rabbits, pigs, deer, whatever. I have lots to learn

What I do have:
A new rifle (.270), looking to get dirty
2 shiny new skinning knives (also looking to get mucked up)
a hunting license with upland, and a pig tag (ambitious, I know)
a sturdy pack full of rope, fire starter, emergency blankets, water, etc
possible access to a shotgun (and a plan to buy one)
a can-do attitude (willing to help field dress, carry, help out however)
a 5-pack of elbow length cleaning-grade latex gloves, Z-87 sunglasses, and sturdy ear plugs
an uncanny ability to sneak and be quiet
solid knowledge of most things outdoors and wilderness survival
a constantly replenished supply of delicious home brewed beer (for afterwards)

Any takers?
Matt