Brand new to Turkey hunting

HHlongbow

Nov 9, 2012
I am brand new to hunting. I went on my first 2 hunts for rabbit several weeks ago. I have heard that Turkey is very difficult especially with a bow and traditional longbow at that! Anyway I wanted to see if I could get some advice on things such as clothing plaid, gillie suite, ground blind etc. Also what is a good landscape and terrain to look out for? Open fields, tree lines etc. I have heard turkeys see color and their sight is 6x times that of a human. I have not ever bagged anything yet but I figure a challenging turkey hunt will at the very least give me needed overall hunting experience. Thanks!!

Welcome to the site HHLB. Your right, turkeys are quite the challenge. The most important thing to learn is how to enjoy the back country by its self. You should be able to spend countless hours out there with out killing anything, and still get great satisfaction out of it. Man I can sit out there day after day and just watch the wild life waiting for the right one, and if it doesn't happen all season Im ok with that. It just goes in the book as therapy. ;)

Invisible man said:
The most important thing to learn is how to enjoy the back country by its self. You should be able to spend countless hours out there with out killing anything, and still get great satisfaction out of it. Man I can sit out there day after day and just watch the wild life waiting for the right one, and if it doesn't happen all season Im ok with that. It just goes in the book as therapy. ;)

I couldn't agree more.