Garmin Oregon 450

John_Gilmore

Feb 26, 2013
Looking at getting the Garmin Oregon 450 it runs about $300... Does anyone have any experience with this model or have any recommendations or suggestions for other GPS devices at about this price range? Also, it'll be my first GPS and my understanding is you have to buy other maps for them for hunting purposes. Any suggested maps for CA/AZ?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

I have a friend that uses that gps. He told me that he loves it and recomended I pick one up. You are right about downloading maps. I dont remember the website but I think you might be able to find free maps online somewhere. I'll try and ask him about it.
I haven't gotten one just because I'm holding out for one of the Garmin Rhinos but I've been holding out for a couple years and just using my phone because they're so expensive. Those oregons sound like a good buy for the price. Just make sure you can get topo and private maps for it.

fordfan1 said:
I have a friend that uses that gps. He told me that he loves it and recomended I pick one up. You are right about downloading maps. I dont remember the website but I think you might be able to find free maps online somewhere. I'll try and ask him about it.
I haven't gotten one just because I'm holding out for one of the Garmin Rhinos but I've been holding out for a couple years and just using my phone because they're so expensive. Those oregons sound like a good buy for the price. Just make sure you can get topo and private maps for it.

I'm not hunting with u untill u get a rino

Which Rino do you guys use? If I'm going to try to hunt with a lot of you guys once I move back, would that be the best option? What model?