More questions about purchasing a bow.

mochosla

Nov 17, 2013
Hi,

So I'm looking at different bows and I really liked the Mathews Craze or the Riot ($600 to $700 all setup). Went to Pergson's Archery in Ojai and spoke with Bob. Great guy and it is obvious that he knows a lot about bows. I also went to Oak Tree range in San Fernando Valley and they showed me some PSE bows that were very nice as well but seem to be higher end and more expensive ($1200 all setup). I'm also looking at some used bows but given the fact that I have zero knowledge of bows, I'm concern with issues the bows may have. I guess I'm asking for some feedback and guidance as to what direction I should go. So far I have learned that Mathews and PSE are top of the line so knowing me, I should stick with that as in the end, I will want to have one of these. Now, If I make the investment, do I need to go with the more pricey of these brands or would their mid-tier bows be good enough to do the job in the long run? I can spend the $1200 but don't want to if really don't have to.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

BTW, at Oak Tree they let me shoot the bows and did very well. I was able to hit a couple of bull's eye at 20 and 40 yards.

I wouldn't buy used unless you know the seller and can get some history about the bow. You don't need a "pricey" bow to get the job done. The urge to buy top of the line is sometimes driven by marketing and "keeping up with the Joneses". The first two bucks I killed were with an entry level bow. Buy what feels good and what you can afford. I'd take a look at packaged type bows that comes with a sight and rest. Somebody on this site was selling a Bowtech Assassin which is just as good if not better than the other models you mentioned.

Breacher said: