Opening weekend, D14

ke1234567

Jul 24, 2018
Santa Clarita, CA
It was freaking wet! rained hard from Friday at 11 p.m. until Saturday at 4 p.m. A lot of shots going off on Friday, lots of fresh deer signs. Saturday afternoon, saw my first buck. He was with a whole slew of does, about 8. I could not tell if he was legal. Had two single spikes and just couldn't tell if he had a fork. Would have been on my roof rack if he had a fork.

I tried. there were a lot of doe tracks but I saw a few tracks that you could definitely tell were from a buck. This is my first time deer hunting and amazed at the difference between the buck and doe signs. the tracks were all over, so hard to follow one set. but the bucks were out.

If there are a lot of hunters, I try to get high as possible. Then watch them push the deer. Act as a blocker. Good glass helps.
I know Hunting in foul weather is not easy. But deer like it, and move a lot.

Reactions: oscar
I was at 9700+ feet elevation. Other hunters were there, but not as many as down by our camp. there were some peaks that were even higher, but with the downpour, it just wasn't happening. I have Vortex binos which worked perfectly. We were moving a lot so i ditched the spotting scope. With the mountains, draws and canyons, it limited distances a little bit. You weren't glassing beyond 350 yards due to all the ridge lines where we were at and honestly, i probably would not have taken a shot at anything beyond 250-300.

Agreed ke1234567
But the point is. If you see a buck a long distance. Try to put the stalk on it. Easier said than done. I Know.
But good luck the next time out.
Every time out at the woods, is win win.
Good luck and fortune.
LB

Reactions: oscar