Pigs in Lost Hills?

amack26

Feb 29, 2016
Orange County
Hey everyone! I'm new to SCH and have tried my luck at public land pig east of san diego. As most of you know and I have learned pig hunting public land in southern california is a far fetched idea. With a scouting trip planned for a few weeks I am wondering if anyone has experience on the blm land up there? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Mostly private around lost hills. Usually only pigs there during the summer to feed on the orchards, then move to private ranches up in the hills. I'd say you have about a .1% chance of finding pigs on public land out there..
I worked in lost hills for 3 months and saw 1 pig on private. Best bet would be to try and talk to the owners of the orchards south of town, they might let you on but most likely they won't... Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

amack26 said:
any recommendations on place to go for public land pigs?

No, public land pig spots are very hard to find, a lot harder then deer spots. So I have my honey holes that i can't tell anyone about... But I can recommend you book a hunt with giant sequoia, it will save you a bunch of money, and time. If you are set on killing a public land pig I would hold out till next fall when the ground is soft and tracks are easy to see. Also be prepared to spend many days, weeks, months, or maybe years before even seeing a hog on public...

Have to agree with Tafthunter for the most part. Although, if you are lucky and have a week, I do have a suggestion. And that is with the caveat that if you aren't an experienced woodsman you don't try this by yourself.